Driving under the influence is illegal in Maryland, as it is in other parts of the country. If you are over 21, you are considered to be under the influence if his blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or more, as measured by chemical tests. Under the implied consent law of Maryland, if he refuses to submit to a chemical test when requested to do so by the police, you may be subject to a license suspension well and automatic.
Maryland distinguishes between driving under the influence (DUI) and driving under the influence of alcohol (DWI). The former is more serious than the latter.
The maximum penalty for a DWI is imprisonment for 60 days, a fine of $ 500, and administrative license suspension for 6 months. To get your license reinstated you may need to complete a treatment program for alcohol abuse substances. A judge is not required to impose the maximum penalty. Although there is no mandatory minimum term of imprisonment, those convicted of DWI face a longer sentence of 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $ 2,000 if the transport of a minor when he was arrested.
On the other hand, if you have a BAC of .08 or higher, you can be convicted of a DUI or DUI per se. The maximum penalty for these offenses is a fine of $ 1,000 and 1 year of imprisonment, as well as suspension of administrative license 6 months and certain provisions related to the reinstatement of your driver’s license. As with a DWI conviction, there is an improvement of DUI conviction if he were carrying a minor at the time they were arrested; specifically, it can be imprisoned for up to 2 years. In addition, a DUI conviction puts 12 points on your record, unlike the 8 points you receive with DWI conviction.
ADDITIONAL CONSEQUENCES DUI / DWI
First offenders in Maryland may be eligible for probation before judgment (PBJ), which allows the history / records of the person remains clean sentences. If a person is subject to BJP, sanctions are not imposed on the driver’s license and car insurance premiums remain the same driver.
On the other hand, convictions influence the condemnation of future charges of DUI / DWI, for a period of 5 years. For example, if you are convicted a second DUI within 5 years of a previous conviction, you are subject to a mandatory minimum prison sentence from five days to a maximum imprisonment for two years and a fine of $ 2,000. If you are convicted of a third DUI within five years of previous convictions, the maximum penalty is imprisonment for 3 years and a fine of $ 3,000.
Fines and imprisonment are not the only possible consequences in the context of DUI / DWI. Judges can also order community service, probation and attendance at a victim impact panel. In addition, you can have your license suspended, depending on the nature of the conviction and criminal record. There are possible additional penalties, as well as the requirement that an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle in order to prevent your driver’s license is suspended.